melting & burning


The Path (1963) – Ahmad Shamlou
June 7, 2012, 5:03 am
Filed under: poem | Tags:

Convinced, I am sure!
I wish a new journey no more.

Please spare me, spare this old sailor,
True, I desire another journey no more.

***

Please, I implore!
Do not show me the stars,
drawing a map of the world in the skies.

For it is now years,
the sky falls down, every night anew,
And I know, it will fall the same, wherever I go–
and unchanged, unchanged! The same as before!

True,
I desire another journey no more.

***

And the trains crossing this small village–
breaking the silence of my cottage–
can no longer disparage–
my piece of sky.

My window,
stays wide open; and my sky infinite,
unchanged, unchanged!

***

And the path,
later than the bridge,
sends me no new invite.
For the only sailboat I knew–
left for its maiden trip long ago.

My door,
stays unlocked, and open to the same spheres,
unchanged, unchanged!

***

Asking me why?
For you cannot afford–
to commission a new mission–
but one!

A journey to bring back
the need, the hunger, the thirst,
the fear, the fire, the silence and the cold,
the beasts and the faint torch, in the memories.

A journey to recall, to remember all the routes crossed,
and the crossroads passed, departing from the roots.

Save this one,
This old sailor, desire a journey for hire, no more.

Translation: Maryam Dilmaghani, April 2011, Halifax

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

