melting & burning


Iceberg – Rose Diamond
August 19, 2013, 5:52 pm
Filed under: poem | Tags: ,

1.
I could draw poetry out of silence
with the patience of a fisherwoman
I have cut my circle in the ice
and wait.

2.
I want to find the courage to dive deep
beyond conception
to hammer diamonds from the glassy wall
such hard at meaning
to make transparent the opaque.
I want to trace with burning fingers
the unique and perfect pattern
of each frost flower
to wear a skin so thin
my blood’s heat will melt
the edge of ice
and make the inert flow.

3.
I want to write poetry with muscle
words that can’t be pummelled into submission
but swagger seeking across a page.
I want a new vocabulary for living
a grammar for contradictions
where mind and body rhyme
and my heart’s beat
sounds in the sea.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

