melting & burning


Aaron Zeitlin
May 18, 2014, 3:09 am
Filed under: poem | Tags: , ,

Praise me, says God, and I will know that you love me.
Curse me, says God, and I will know that you love me.
Praise me or curse me
And I will know that you love me.

Sing out my graces, says God,
Raise your fist against me and revile, says God.
Sing out graces or revile,
Reviling is also a kind of praise,
says God.

But if you sit fenced off in your apathy,
says God,
If you sit entrenched in: “I don’t give a hang,” says God,
If you look at the stars and yawn,
If you see suffering and don’t cry out,
If you don’t praise and you don’t revile,
Then I created you in vain, says God.

– Aaron Zeitlin (1898-1973)

(original in Yiddish, i think)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

